Karnataka bypoll results: Congress wins 2 seats; BJP wins 1, faces shocking defeat in Bellary

Karnataka bypoll results: Congress wins 2 seats; BJP wins 1, faces shocking defeat in Bellary

Bangalore: The ruling Congress in Karnataka has registered a big win in the assembly by-polls. It has won two of the total three seats went to polls on August 21. The BJP has won one seat. The Congress has wrested the prestigious Bellary Rural seat from the BJP. The seat was earlier held by MP B Sriramulu. The Congress candidate NY Gopalakrishna has won the seat by 34,000 votes. The defeat in Bellary Rural is being seen as a huge setback for the BJP.

Winner Party Wise Seat :


Karnataka (3)





Constituency Wise:

 Winner Names :

Chikkodi – Sadalga (Karnataka) Ganesh Prakash Hukkeri (Cong) Prakash Babanna Hukkeri (Cong)
Bellary (Karnataka) Obalesh (Cong) B Sreeramulu (BJP)
Shikaripur (Karnataka) BY Raghavendra (BJP) BS Yeddyurappa (BJP)

The Congress has retained Chikkodi-Sadalaga assembly seat. Ganesh Hukkeri, the Congress candidate and son of local MP Prakash Hukkeri has won the seat comfortably.

In the prestigious Shikaripura assembly seat in Shimoga district, the BJP candidate BY Raghavendra has won by a slender margin of just 4000 votes. Earlier the seat was held by former chief minister BS Yeddyurappa, who went to Lok Sabha in last May.

The victory margin of the BJP in Shikaripua has shocked the party leadership. In the 2013 Assembly polls, Yeddyurappa won the seat by almost 50,000 votes and in the last Lok Sabha polls, he was leading by over 70,000 votes in the same seat. His son won the seat by a great difficulty, this time.

The Congress which has lost the seat by just 4,000 votes is claiming that the verdict is against the BJP.

The shocking defeat in Bellary Rural has diminished the clout of B Sriramulu. The chief minister Sidaramaiah said that the result is the indication of waning influence of the Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

Source :oneindia.in,infoelection.com

This Post Has Been Viewed 0 Times